Derby County 3-3 Salford City (Derby win 5-3 on pens)

Ravel Morrison celebrates scoring for Derby County against Salford City
Ravel Morrison (left) only signed for Derby on Saturday

Wayne Rooney’s beleaguered Derby County held their nerve in a penalty shootout as they fought back from 2-0 and 3-2 down in normal time to beat Salford City in the Carabao Cup first round.

An inexperienced Rams side trailed 2-0 inside 15 minutes as defender Jordan Turnbull headed in a well-worked corner and Josh Morris smashed home a fine low strike.

The hosts, who are under a transfer embargo, recovered impressively, with Isaac Hutchinson finding the bottom corner from inside the box and Colin Kazim-Richards netting a controversial penalty for the Championship side.

Morris restored League Two Salford’s lead with another cool spot-kick, but Ravel Morrison’s thumping 25-yard strike – his first Derby goal – forced penalties which went the way of the hosts thanks to keeper Ryan Allsop’s fine save from Luke Burgess.

A spirited Rams response to a disastrous start against a side part-owned by former Manchester United stars including Gary Neville, Paul Scholes and David Beckham delighted Rooney, who celebrated a confidence-boosting win enthusiastically.

Hutchinson’s well-taken strike reduced the gap at a vital time just before the break and Derby were the better side after the interval.

Kazim-Richards’ soft penalty drew the hosts level when Festy Ebosele was brought down by Momodou Touray, only for an even more controversial spot-kick to restore Salford’s lead.

Morris stayed calm to score his second of the night after Craig Forsyth was penalised for tugging back Burgess, despite the foul being outside of the box.

Morrison smashed in the equaliser into the top corner from 25 yards when his free-kick came straight back to him to ensure the game went the distance and Derby were faultless from the spot to progress.



Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 31Allsop
  • 36EboseleBooked at 42mins
  • 32Brown
  • 3Forsyth
  • 43Williams
  • 35Watson
  • 40HutchinsonSubstituted forKazim-Richardsat 66′minutes
  • 17Sibley
  • 11MorrisonSubstituted forShinnieat 88′minutes
  • 7JózwiakBooked at 77mins
  • 34Stretton


  • 2Byrne
  • 4Shinnie
  • 8Bird
  • 10Lawrence
  • 13Kazim-Richards
  • 16Stearman
  • 21Roos


Formation 4-4-2

  • 1King
  • 22Golden
  • 5Eastham
  • 16TurnbullBooked at 18mins
  • 3Touray
  • 11Morris
  • 4Lowe
  • 14Willock
  • 10HunterSubstituted forBurgessat 65′minutes
  • 18McAlenySubstituted forLundat 81′minutes
  • 9ElliottSubstituted forHendersonat 64′minutes


  • 8Lund
  • 12Jeacock
  • 15Burgess
  • 21Melhado
  • 30N’Mai
  • 32Shephard
  • 40Henderson

Live Text

Source link

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *