T20 World Cup: England to face West Indies in opening game

Eoin Morgan plays an attacking shot for England
Eoin Morgan’s England side will face current T20 world champions West Indies in the opening game of the World Cup

England will face defending champions West Indies in their opening game of the men’s T20 World Cup – a repeat of the 2016 final.

England, hoping to add the T20 title to their 50-over World Cup, meet West Indies in the Super 12s on 23 October.

They then play Australia on 30 October and South Africa on 6 November.

They will also face two yet-to-be-determined qualifiers for the Super 12 group – possibly Ireland and Scotland.

Scotland are in qualifying Group B and will face Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea and Oman in round one of the tournament.

Ireland will face Sri Lanka, Netherlands and Namibia in Group A of the initial qualifying stage, with the top two sides from each group progressing to the semi-finals.

In one of the biggest games of the Super 12 group stage India face neighbours Pakistan on 24 October in Dubai.

Group 1 Group 2
England India
Australia Pakistan
South Africa New Zealand
West Indies Afghanistan
Winner Group A Winner Group B
Runner-up Group B Runner-up Group A

Source link

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *